May 27, 2013

Interview with Jennifer Raygoza

Posted in Interviews tagged , , , , , , , , at 7:00 am by Christine Rice

Jennifer RaygozaJennifer Raygoza was born in Riverside, California. She attended Fullerton College with a Major in Psychology.

She lives with her husband and two children in Corona, California.

“I have always wanted to write a book that readers would love. I spent a lot of my High school years writing poetry, but never had the nerve to put a story down with pen and pad. I hope everyone enjoys the story as much as I did writing it.”

Christine: Welcome, Jennifer. Are you solely a writer or do you have multiple occupations?

Jennifer: For the last six years I was a manager for a Market Research firm. I also had a purse retail business on the side, but I had to manage some health issues so I have been off work at home working on my writing.

Christine: How much time do you spend writing each day/week and what do you normally work on?

Jennifer: I try to dedicate parts of everyday to writing or promoting my work.

Christine: What marketing techniques do you use to promote yourself as a writer and your writing?

Jennifer: I use Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads. I also run ad campaigns once in a while to keep the audience fresh.

I made my own press releases and located online sites that would post them for free. I also do giveaways to get the readers excited.

Christine: Where can we find your published writing?

The GuardiansJennifer: www.amazon.com/The-Guardians-ebook/dp/B00C13CKVG

Christine: What interests you about writing fiction?

Jennifer: I love creating events that don’t happen in life. It makes me laugh when people read a fantasy fiction book and say that’s not realistic. Isn’t that the point to writing a fantasy fiction book-to make things happen that wouldn’t normally?

Christine: What are your favorite characters that you have created? Tell us about them.

Jennifer: I love Gianna and Caleb. They are my two leads. I wrote them and watched their relationship develop and it was fun to see them unfold together.

Christine: Are you traditionally published or self-published? Why did you choose that path?

Jennifer: I did my homework and read about how many authors who tried to traditionally publish and were constantly declined. The thought of that was discouraging. I didn’t even try that route. I didn’t want anyone raining on my parade. I had heard about self-publishers who were successful and I thought I would give it a go. It’s been tough because when you self-publish you don’t have the man power of a publishing house doing all of your work for you. You have to get a good editor, publish it, promote and advertise until you drop. I love it though.

Thanks for joining us today, Jennifer. Good luck with your book!

Leave a Reply

