May 15, 2013

Interview with Will McClinton

Posted in Interviews tagged , , , , , , at 7:00 am by Christine Rice

Will McClintonI’d like to welcome Will McClinton to my blog for an interview. Here is a little about him:

In high school, my passion for writing grew. By the summer after graduation it was a possibility. Then I was blindsided by a MVA (motor vehicle accident) that changed the direction of my life. I lost sight of my joy in writing. This is still sending ripples through my life. After two decades of work in the healthcare field (I’m a RN now), I recognized a need to connect with the creativity that was missing from my personal life. So Lineage was begun. I refused to stop writing even for shoulder surgery. My mom typed and painted in classical oils for over thirty years, even with having lost an arm during the great depression. So I took the strength I had learned from her and went on as I do now in her wake. Reading, writing, and gardening will always be a part of my life, as she will.

Christine: It’s nice to meet you, Will. What inspired you to write your first book?

Will: My inspiration to write came out of necessity – needing a creative outlet that is year round of which writing can be. Unlike gardening, one of my pleasures, time, is limited. There is nothing like getting my hands into the soil – a way of connecting with the earth, its energy. Writing is a seedling at the beginning of a story, small and fragile, but as time goes on, the characters grow and change, developing before your mind’s eye.

Christine: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

LineageWill: There are several messages that readers can take away from Lineage – The Descendants. First, but only one of several. Beauty can often be a disguise for evil, appearing innocent and harmless. Take a page out of resent American or French politics; we all need to look beyond the surface of the story. Do not accept on blind faith that the truth and the facts are one in the same. The news communication networks like nothing better than a good – or is it bad – sex scandal to sale time or space.

Christine: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Will: I was in 9th grade English, a creative writing class taught by Ms. Woodring. Not a typical English teacher, for she was aggressive and outspoken. By the time I finished that semester, I was bitten by the graphic arts bug and wanted to write for my life.

Christine: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Will: The hardest part of writing a novel was committing to it. Then it was choosing a subject. I enjoy reading over a range of genres.

Christine: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Will: I tell anyone that will listen that wants to write a story or a book, make the time and sit down and do it. Once you begin, a fertile imagination will bring the story, as in planting a seed.

Christine: Where can we find out more about you and your book on the Web?

Will: Blog: www.mcclintonlineage.wordpress.com
About the Book: www.mcclintonlineage.wordpress.com/about-the-book
Twitter: @WillMcClinton1

Thanks so much for joining us today, Will!

Leave a Reply

