January 23, 2013

First draft of “Chronicles of a Troubled Girl” finished!

Posted in Books, Editing, Publishing tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 8:57 am by Christine Rice

The day after my last post, which was about how I hadn’t worked on my manuscripts in a few months, I resumed working on my work-in-progress: Chronicles of a Troubled Girl. I wrote for one to two hours a day most days, and I’m happy to say that I finished the first draft the other day! It feels great to have completed the writing part of the book project.

The next step is to edit. Since it is a compilation of my journal entries from childhood to adulthood, and I want the book to be as accurate of the times as possible, I will not be doing a lot of editing. I will just review what I have written for spelling and grammar. Since I did that as I typed the journals, there will not be much editing to do. It will be a fairly quick review process and I will only need to go through the manuscript once, since I am also a professional editor.

Lately, I’ve been trying to spend less time on the computer since my body has been feeling stiff and uncomfortable when I sit for too long – due to previous leg injuries. But I’m sure I will begin editing soon. And since my last post motivated me to finish the first draft, I am hoping this post will inspire me to begin editing. I will just need to spend less time online each day so that I’ll be able to spend time editing the manuscript, and I’ll only be able to work on it for an hour at a time so that I can get up and stretch my legs.

I am looking forward to editing Chronicles of a Troubled Girl and moving on with the publishing process and getting it out to the public. I will not be doing a blog tour, since it is a very personal memoir. I prefer that people I know, and those I announce it to, will be the first to read it, and I will allow word-of-mouth to be the main method of marketing.

I hope you all have a joyous day. Happy writing and reading!

Leave a Reply

