November 7, 2012

Interview with Natasha House

Posted in Interviews tagged , , , , , , , at 10:35 am by Christine Rice

I met Natasha House on Book Blogs. She has been happily married for seven years. She enjoys reading, writing, singing, playing piano, and crafting. Her dream is to be a full-time author one day and quit her day job!

Christine: How, and when, did you decide to become a writer?
Natasha:
I decided to become a writer when I was twelve. I wrote a story for school and finished it in one day. I went to young authors because of it!

Christine: How long have you been a writer?
Natasha:
Eighteen years. Forever I know!

Christine: What is your writing experience as an author?
Natasha:
I’m a fairly new author, so I don’t have a ton of experience. I did have a book signing for the first time on my book Superhero Princess. That was exciting!

Christine: What types of writing do you do?
Natasha:
I do all kinds of writing. I have a sci-fi romance novel and a middle grade/YA fantasy book. I’m also writing a paranormal/gothic and fantasy book.

Christine: What books have you published recently?
Natasha:
My most recent one would be Superhero Princess and the Curse of the Rainbow Fairy. I’m working on book two for this series!

Christine: Are you solely a writer or do you have multiple occupations?
Natasha:
I wish! That is what I’d love to do, but no, I’m a department manager for a retail store.

Christine: What is a typical day like for you as an author?
Natasha:
I write on my lunch break at a bookstore. It’s my best focus time. I tend to get distracted at home.

Christine: How much time do you spend writing each day and what do you normally work on?
Natasha:
I would say I spend a good half-hour a day writing. I’ve been working currently on my fantasy novel. It’s getting crazy exciting! I also have been working on Superhero Princess and the Well of Madness.

Christine: What marketing techniques do you use to promote yourself as a writer and your writing?
Natasha:
I use facebook, twitter, and blogs. It’s a lot of leg work, but I’m sure it will be worth it in the end!

Christine: Where can we find your published writing?
Natasha:
http://www.amazon.com/Superhero-Princess-Curse-Rainbow-ebook/dp/B007ODOGJW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1352258808&sr=8-1&keywords=superhero+princess

http://www.amazon.com/Citizen-ebook/dp/B007SCUBG6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1352258847&sr=8-2&keywords=superhero+princess

Christine: What genres do you like to read?
Natasha:
I like to read paranormal or YA books.

Christine: Do you find you “mentally edit” other writers’ works as you read them? Does doing this help you or bother you?
Natasha:
I find myself observing other writers’ work. Sometimes too many errors get on my nerves, or if words sound choppy and hard to read. I think one thing as an author I encourage is to read your own work out loud to someone.

Christine: What is your favorite book?
Natasha:
I really love The Oath by Frank Peretti. It has so much action and crazy stuff in it.

Thanks so much for joining us, Natasha. All the best with your writing endeavors!

2 Comments »

  1. Hi, Christine and Natasha, this is a great interview. Never give up, Natasha, your dream of being a full time writer can happen one day. Good luck with your books. Cute cover!


Leave a Reply

