October 20, 2012

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop!

Posted in Books tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 3:16 pm by Christine Rice

Okay, it’s time to take a break from working to get back to blogging :) I have been tagged by Katie S. Pendergrass for The Next Big Thing Blog Hop. The “rules” are to answer 10 questions about my work-in-progress. I have two work-in-progresses, so I will choose Chronicles of a Troubled Girl for this blog hop.

1. What is the working title of your book?
Chronicles of a Troubled Girl: A Collection of Journal Entries

2. Where did the idea come from?
I got the initial idea – to type up all of my journal entries – from my friend and colleague, Katrina Rychling. She said she was planning on typing up her journals, and that gave me the idea to type up and publish mine.

3. What genre does your work-in-progress fall under?
Memoir or compilation.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I would want to be the main character, which is myself :) There are a lot of other people in my book and it would be wonderful if all the original people could play the parts. I’m sure that won’t happen, but I can dream, right? ;)

5. What is a one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Chronicles of a Troubled Girl is a compilation of the author’s journal entries from age nine to age thirty that demonstrates her struggles during childhood, adolescence, and adulthood.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I will likely be self-publishing it.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
I started writing the manuscript at the end of January and I am still working on it. I am 4/5 finished with it. I took a few months off due to publishing and marketing my other book and because of other work responsibilities.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within its genre?
Anne Frank’s The Diary of a Young Girl.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?
Katrina Rychling. Thanks, Katrina!

10. What else about your book might pique reader’s interest?
There are journal entries about my experiences in a mental hospital and with being homeless.

Those are all of the questions. Now I will choose some people who I’d like to hear about their work-in-progress: Charlene Truxler, Dew Pellucid, Russ Meyer, Theresa Leschmann, and Karen Elizabeth Brown. The “rules” are to answer the same questions, but about your own work-in-progress, and to tag people you know who are authors or writers and possibly working on a manuscript. Have fun!

4 Comments »

  1. Thanks, Christine. I’ve already been tagged by this particular set of questions, but it was a while ago. Right now I’m rolling around some new ideas for a new book, but haven’t started yet.
    Good luck on your new book. Memoirs can be challenging to write.

    • I’m glad to hear the blog hop is so widespread! It was my first one :) Lately, I’ve been really busy with my editing and formatting business that I haven’t had time for working on my books. I hope to get back to working on them as soon as editing and formatting becomes tiresome. Good luck with your new book idea!

  2. ansuyo said,

    Interesting.

    • Yes, it was. It was fun answering the questions and being a part of the blog hop.


Leave a Reply

