September 15, 2012

Interview with Amy Metz

Posted in Interviews tagged , , at 7:33 am by Christine Rice

Good morning, everyone! Today I will be interviewing author Amy Metz. I met Amy on Book Blogs, where she was interested in interviewing authors on her blog. I volunteered to be interviewed, but I also wanted to interview her. It is my pleasure to welcome Amy Metz, author of Murder & Mayhem in Goose Pimple Junction.

How, and when, did you decide to become a writer?

I started writing in 2009 as a form of therapy when my mother was diagnosed with Vascular Dementia. I decided to write a memoir about the trials and tribulations of taking care of a parent–especially one with dementia. It was good therapy, but it also was like living the experiences twice. I needed to escape from the real world, so I started writing a humorous mystery novel. I’m still writing, and I’m still escaping into my fictional world.

What is a typical day like for you as a writer?

Because of mom duties, I write off and on all day, in between errands, picking up my sixteen-year-old son from school, making dinner, and being distracted by Facebook and Pinterest. I work best at night, and usually stay up until one or two o’clock writing. Or surfing Facebook and Pinterest.

What interests you about writing fiction?

I like creating places where I, as the writer, and you as the reader, can escape. I love creating characters who do and say things I never would, and I love creating characters who say and do things I wish I could. I saw a quote recently that struck a chord with me: “Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.” Sometimes I feel that’s absolutely true!

What are your favorite characters that you have created? Tell us about them.

Oh now, I can’t pick favorites, but I will tell you about a few who are fun to write about.

Pickle is a sixteen-year-old whose brain waves don’t quite reach the beach, but he tries to do the right thing, even though he suffers from CDD (Clue Deficit Disorder). He’s known for his collection of funny t-shirts, of which he wears a different one every day.

Louetta is almost eighty years old, but she’s full of life, never met a stranger, and is just flat out good people. She just makes you feel good to be around her.

Those are two main characters, but I also love Tank, who is a no-nonsense, rough and tumble biker dude. But he plays a small role in the book. And sadly, I had to kill him off.

What is the title of your most recently published novel and a description of it?

Murder & Mayhem In Goose Pimple Junction was released in August. It’s the first in a humorous southern mystery series. The town is full of good and bad people, some who are a little quirky. Most of the conversations in Goose Pimple Junction are sprinkled with southern colloquialisms (AKA goosepimpleisms.) This first book is centered around a seventy-five-year-old murder, which newcomer Tess attempts to solve. As she and Jack investigate, murder and mayhem occur.

Where can we find your novels?

Murder & Mayhem In Goose Pimple Junction is available at several online stores, the two biggest ones being Amazon and Barnes & Noble:

www.amazon.com/dp/0985138874

www.barnesandnoble.com/w/murder-and-mayhem-in-goose-pimple-junction-amy-metz/1111849687?ean=9780985138875

What do you like to read?

I love reading mysteries, thrillers – if they’re not too gruesome (suspense and scary are okay, cruel and gruesome are not) – and chick lit. I particularly love books with humor in any of those three genres.

Who are your favorite authors?

My all-time favorites are Robert B. Parker, John Sandford, and Nelson DeMille. They are three authors who are excellent at writing mysteries with a little humor.

Do you find you “mentally edit” other writers’ works as you read them? Does doing this help you or bother you?

(Cringing) I am so guilty of that. I can’t help it. It’s a sickness! I suppose from that answer, you can deduce that it mostly bothers me. It’s hard to read just for pleasure when I constantly stop reading and think, “There should be a comma there.” Or, “That word’s misspelled.” I do it to my kids in everyday life too, which drives them crazy, of course. But I still do it. Sigh. Is there a support group for people like me?

Where can we find you on the Web?

My website: www.amymetz.com
My blog: www.abluemillionbooks.blogspot.com
My Facebook page: www.facebook.com/AuthorAmyMetz
Twitter: www.twitter.com/goosepimpleisms
Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/user/show/4790665-amy-metz
Book trailer: www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vIbieSgVjk

Thanks so much, Amy, for being with us today!

Leave a Reply

