July 16, 2012

Editing “Freelance Writing Guide”

Posted in Books, Editing, Reading, Self-Publishing, Writing tagged , , , , , , , , , at 1:51 am by Christine Rice

I am currently in the editing stages of Freelance Writing Guide: What to Expect in Your First Year as a Freelance Writer. I have to admit that the manuscript is coming along nicely, as far as what I can see as I’m editing. It is pretty structurally sound and well-written. It mostly needs edits in grammar, formatting, and sentence structure. I’m glad I put in a little extra time when I wrote the first draft to make it less of a rough draft, because now the subsequent drafts are easier. I’m up to chapter 13 out of 22, so I’m more than halfway through the second draft (or first revision, as I like to call it). I’ve been editing at a rate of 2-3 chapters at a time, which takes me 1-2 hours.

My initial plan was to have the book published in September, but it could happen in August by the way things look right now. I need to set the book aside for a couple of weeks between edits. I can’t wait to have it complete so that I can work more intensively on Chronicles of a Troubled Girl to get that one wrapped up as well. I just don’t like loose ends laying around. I’m currently working on Freedom from Fat as well, which is an ongoing project, since I am working on accomplishing the feat I am writing about. Once I reach my weight loss goals, I will be ready to edit and publish that book. It will probably be in 2013.

I am reading a lot every day. I am currently reading Hell by John Prescott. I am enjoying that book, which is book 2 in a trilogy (Pray was book 1). I have stopped taking on new books to review, as I have a large pile already and want to get near the bottom before I take on any more. I am booked up through October, and like I said before, I don’t like loose ends.

Well, that’s about it. Things are going smoothly and I’m happy about that. To hear more frequent updates on my progress, “like” my Facebook page: Christine Rice ~ Freelance Writer and Author.

2 Comments »

  1. Looking forward to more updates and the finished book. I’m sure it ill a help to all those wanting to break into the industry.

    • Thanks, Theresa. I’m hoping it will educate people who are interested in becoming a freelance writer. Before I started freelance writing, I had a lot of questions and would have liked to know what it was like. That’s why I wrote it, plus the fact that I wanted to share my knowledge about my first year of freelancing (in 2nd person tense), since I had only done it for about a year in the middle of writing it. Will definitely be giving more updates!


Leave a Reply

