July 6, 2012

Keeping you Posted…

Posted in Books, Personal, Reading, Writing tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , at 3:10 am by Christine Rice

Okay, so I’ve taken a few days off from working on my manuscripts in order to get some extra sleep, get ahead in my reading, exercise, write blog posts, and upload new covers for two of my books. I also spent time with my husband and even had a day where I hardly worked, which I haven’t done in a long time.

It is time, however, to buckle down and get back to work (at least the writing/editing part). I need to edit Freelance Writing Guide, and my goal is to have the first revision done by the end of July. I also have to finish up “Chronicles of a Troubled Girl,” which I only have less than 1/3 left to write. That book is coming along quickly now, but will slow down a bit as I work on editing the first book.

By the way, I got a new desk chair–a rolling one with arm rests that is comfortable. I’ve wanted a new chair for the past 6 months. Finally, I have a real desk chair made for a writer!

So, starting tomorrow I will be super productive and not spend too much time dealing with online things. Who plans on being productive tomorrow? I know it’s Friday, but every day is a chance to start anew :)

6 Comments »

  1. RD Meyer said,

    Interesting. I just finished up a post of my own on where my work stands(as far as getting out there).

    So many things seem to get in the way, not least of which is that there are sometimes too many stories in our heads as writers. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could just shut off the voices long enough to get out one complete story? Then we could turn the faucet back on…

    • I find the Internet is what gets in the way the most. I’m a member of many websites and there is so much to keep up with. I don’t only post my own stuff; I like to read and respond to others’ posts, so my Internet time is longer. I limit myself to certain websites and people, but I still feel overwhelmed by all that goes on online.

      I don’t write fiction, so I don’t have stories going on in my head, but if I did, I would use a notebook to keep track of the stories. I do wish I could write a work of fiction, and have been considering lately about taking a class in fiction writing. Do you have any recommendations?

  2. Veleta said,

    I like this. Sometimes we need just to stop for a moment and reflect on the things we want to do.

    • I agree. It’s important to evaluate life occasionally to make sure we’re heading down the right path, rather than walking without paying attention. Every day, I try to accomplish what I hope to accomplish when I first wake up. If I don’t, I try again the next day. I think it’s important to, the majority of the time, have long-term goals and short-term steps to get there. I like movement, not stagnation. But it’s also important to feel compassion for ourselves and not be hard on ourselves. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I find if I sit down “to write”, I am fine. But I let myriad tiny distractions keep me from that. Self-discipline has never been my strong suit. I am doing the same thing you are, working on a fiction and a non-fiction at the same time. I find a good thing about working on non-fiction is I don’t walk away from it still thinking about it. Whereas with fiction, a zillion things trigger thoughts of it and its plot lines.

    • I am not skilled at being disciplined either. I need to feel inspired to do something, or else it’s just too painful to do. I am editing a nonfiction book, and writing two memoirs based on journal entries. So my books are already pretty much planned out. I would like to write fiction someday. Thanks for your comment!


Leave a Reply

