January 19, 2012

Books for writers and writing a book

Posted in Books, Writing tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 8:50 am by Christine Rice

I’ve been reading the articles that are in the beginning of Writer’s Market. I got the 2012 Deluxe Edition because the website subscription that comes with it will be helpful, and I also couldn’t pass up the deal ($26.95 for the book and one-year subscription, while the subscription alone costs $39.99). The articles are helpful and current. Many seem “made” for me according to the place I am on my career path and in my writing endeavors.

Since I’m almost done reading the articles in Writer’s Market, I searched for my next book to read. I decided on a used copy of Becoming a Writer by Dorothea Brande. It’s an older book, published in 1934, but it’s fitting for my needs. From searching inside the book on Amazon.com, the book seems to be about the struggles writers go through in order to be writers, such as personality and lifestyle challenges. It has a section on developing a schedule of writing every day, which is exactly what I need to read about, as I’m writing a book and want to get in the habit of writing every day so that I will finish writing the book.

I’ve written in my book for the last two consecutive days and I’m proud of myself for it, but I need to keep it up. It’s mentally easier for me to keep writing if I write every day. I’ve had a lighter work schedule lately which is nice. Maybe I’ll try submitting book reviews to a local magazine, or query some of the journals from the Writer’s Market market listing.

I’m really happy to be a full-time writer and author. It’s the best thing in the world!

4 Comments »

  1. I agree on having a regular writing schedule makes writing easier. I noticed this when I first participated in Nanowrimo. While the amount of writing every day was tough it seemed to help get over that awkward stage where you’re staring at a blank page and are afraid what you write will be awful.

    • I participated in NaNoWriMo in 2008. I only wrote for the first week, but I did give it a good try. I don’t think I was “into” the suspense novel I was writing, since I only write nonfiction. But I was under the impression that submissions to NaNo are supposed to be fiction.

  2. I absolutely love my Writers’s Market. I think it is a must have for serious writers. It also is helpful seeing how much writers get paid, so you don’t sell yourself short.

    • Yes, Writer’s Market is a very good resource for professional writers. I also like the Writer’s Market Companion.


Leave a Reply

