January 17, 2012

Review of “Starting Your Career as a Freelance Writer”

Posted in Book Reviews tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , at 1:58 pm by Christine Rice

Allen, Moira. Starting Your Career as a Freelance Writer. 2nd ed. New York: Allworth Press, 2011. 317 pages. $24.95.

I am a freelance writer and I’m in the first year of my career. I have been published online many times and I feel I have learned a lot about freelance writing. However, I recently felt like I was “missing” something in my endeavors, so I picked up Starting Your Career as a Freelance Writer by Moira Allen to learn more about the business of freelance writing and publishing.

My first glance at the table of contents told me it was a book with a lot of information. And that’s just what I needed – a book that covered all the bases.

The sequence of the book is logical, similar to a story, and it has short chapters, which makes the nine parts easy to read. Part one begins with a discussion about what it’s like to be a freelance writer, including how to make time for writing and how to set goals. Part two explains how to write a publishable article, and includes advice on narrowing a topic, making an outline, performing research, conducting interviews, as well as essential tips on how to complete any writing assignment, whether it be an article or a novel. The remaining parts detail various aspects of getting published and the business of writing.

Allen’s advice comes from many years of experience as a writer and an editor; she shares her well-rounded expertise (from having been on both sides of the desk) with the reader. Her writer’s voice resembles that of an experienced colleague who gladly shares her knowledge with the reader in an encouraging, informative, and helpful way. As the author, she is believable, because you can feel the wisdom in her words.

As far as wanting to learn all the ins and outs of freelance writing, well, I did, and I had no questions remaining after I finished the book.

Starting Your Career as a Freelance Writer is going to have a place in my home library, and I’m sure I’ll use it as a guide again and again throughout my career.

Leave a Reply

